Parish Council


Planning Committee Meeting - 23rd July at 7pm in the Parish Room (Internet Resource) - Please click here for the agenda.
Full Council Meeting - 14th August at 7pm in the Burwash Common Pavilion


Handyperson Vacancy

Burwash Parish Council would like to invite candidates for the role of Parish Handyperson to undertake light physical duties which will be predominantly outdoors; routine maintenance and conducting inspections under the direction and management of the Council through the Clerk to the Council. 

We are seeking a handy person who will be available to provide some or all of the services below. If there are gaps - or the tasks suit more than one candidate, we will appoint accordingly.

The main duties will involve general maintenance around the Parish.  The Handyperson will be able to work on their own initiative, be able to carry out manual duties, be good at DIY and minor repairs, be able to operate machinery and use equipment.

  • Hours: Paid monthly on a self-employed basis. Monthly time sheets to be submitted based on agreed working schedule with the Parish Council through the Clerk. Please submit your hourly rate with your application.
  • Probationary Period: Permanent appointment will be confirmed, subject to satisfactorily completing a 3 month trial period
  • References: Candidates invited for interview will be required to provide two suitable references.

Applications: Must be received by midnight 31st July 2018 – Please send CVs and a brief cover letter to:
Parish Clerk and RFO
Burwash Parish Council
PO Box 61
TN19 7YZ

Or email

Please click here for a full job description.

Parish Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer: Jane Clarke

Address: PO Box 61, Etchingham, TN19 7YZ
Telephone: 07854 699518

Parish Councillors

Councillor Betty McBride MBE  Chair of Council 

Tel: 01435 883615

Responsibilities: Planning, Finance, HR, Website

Register of Interests

Councillor Steve Moore  Vice-chair of Council

Tel:01435 882918

Responsibilities: Planning, Finance, Building maintenance, Housing, Neighbourhood Plan, Parish Promotion

Register of Interests

Councillor Ijon Jenner  Chair of Planning Committee 

Tel: 01435 882045

Responsibilities: Planning, Footpaths, Highways (verges, pavements & signage), Grit bins, Strengthening Local Relations

Register of Interests

Councillor Karen Dixon Chair of Finance Committee

Tel: 01435 884031


Responsibilities: Finance, Planning

Register of Interests

Councillor David Vereker 

Tel:01435 882621

Responsibilities: Planning, Tree Warden, War Memorial, Strengthening Local Relations Meetings, Car Parks

Register of Interests

Councillor Jason Caulkin

Tel: 01435 883269 or 07887 843540

Responsibilities: Planning, Community Safety and PCSO/Police Liaison, Community Hub

Register of Interests

Councillor Natalie Crabtree

Tel: 01435 882635 or 07808 011967

Responsibilities: Community Speedwatch, Community Hub, Parking, Traffic, Young People, Love Burwash Day, RTAG Meetings

Register of Interests

Councillor Lesley Elmslie

Tel:01435 883510 or 07818 648038

Responsibilities: Planning, Finance,HR, Community Hub, Neighbourhood Plan, Internet Resource, Down Meadow, RALC

Register of Interests

Councillor Julian Kenny

Tel:07813 568829

Responsibilities: Neighbourhood Plan, HR

Register of Interests


Councillor Andrew Mann


Responsibilities: HR, Parish Maintenance (including Lime Trees) and Land Managed and Owned by Rother

Register of Interests


Councillor Peter Pope

Tel:01435 882566

Responsibilities: Planning, Footpaths, Highway (verges,pavements & signage) Strengthening Local Realtions 

Register of Interests

The Council meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 7pm in the Parish Room (Internet Room), The Bear Car Park, High Street, Burwash. Please note: the February, April, August and October meetings each year will be held at The Pavilion, Burwash Common.

Council and committee meeting agendas are published three clear working days before meetings.

The Press and public are welcome and are encouraged to attend all meetings. Members of the public may ask about any matter of public concern and there is 15 minutes set aside at the beginning of each meeting for this.  If you let the clerk know about your query the day before the meeting, it may help with a speedy response.

Meeting notices and any change to location or timings will be on the website and noticeboards.